SADD Marylnd Logo

Students Against Destructive Decisions (SADD)

Helping young people make positive decisions that advance their health and safety.

Originally, the mission of the SADD chapter was to help young people say “No” to drinking and driving. Today, the mission has expanded. Students have told us that positive peer pressure, role modeling and environmental strategies can prevent other destructive decisions and set a healthier, safer course for their lives. And that is why SADD (Students Against Destructive Decisions) has become a peer-to-peer education, prevention, and activism organization dedicated to preventing destructive decisions, particularly underage drinking, other drug use, risky and impaired driving, teen violence, and teen suicide.

Vision of SADD

SADD envisions a world in which young people make positive decisions that advance their health and safety.

Mission

SADD’s mission is to empower young people to successfully confront the risks and pressures that challenge them in their daily lives. We accomplish this by creating, equipping, and sustaining a network of student-led chapters in schools and communities focused on peer-to-peer education. SADD fosters a sense of belonging and promotes resiliency, leadership and advocacy skills so that young people make positive life decisions.


The Maryland State Coordinator of Students Against Destructive Decisions is Maggie McDermott from The Impact Society  (maggster0121@gmail.com).

SADD chapters are alive and well in Anne Arundel County. SADD chapter advisers meet twice annually to share experiences, successes and coordinate countywide themes and activities. For information on how to contact a SADD chapters in your school, or to start a SADD chapter in Anne Arundel County, contact Heather Eshleman, Department of Health, Prevention Supervisor at hdeshl00@aacounty.org or 410-222-6724.


 

SADD School Contact List in Anne Arundel County


Name Organization Phone Email Address
Bridgitte Hammaker Annapolis High 410-266-5240 bhammaker@aacps.org
Sanya Reyes-Chapman Annapolis High 410-266-5240 sreyes-chapman@aacps.org
Kate Kramer Annapolis High 410-266-5240 hdkram22@aacounty.org
Kaycie Bowen Archbishop Spalding High School 410-969-9105 bowenk@archbishopspalding.org
Marcie Gibbons Archbishop Spalding High School 410-969-9105 gibbonsm@archbishopspalding.org
Maria Dominguez Archbishop Spalding High School 410-969-9105 dominguezm@archbishopspalding.org
Jen Bender Arundel High School 410-926-6070 jbender1@aacps.org
Alison Mikeska Arundel High School 410-674-6500 amikeska@aacps.org
Amy Beller Bates Middle School 410-263-0270 abeller@aacps.org
Christina Houstian Broadneck High School 410-757-1300 choustian@aacps.org
Megan Townsend Brooklyn Park/ Lindale Middle 410-636-8276 mtownsend@aacps.org
Richard VonHagen Brooklyn Park Middle 410-636-2967 rvonhagen@aacps.org
Kerri Sprow Brooklyn Park Middle 410-636-2967 ksprow@aacps.org
Sandra Seward Central Middle School 410-956-5800 sseward@aacps.org
John Finneran Chesapeake High School 410-692-5831 jfinneran51@msn.com
Tami Beyer Chesapeake High School 410-692-5831 tbeyer@aacps.org
Cory Ross Crofton Middle School 410-793-0280 cross@aacps.org
Augustus Dickens George Fox Middle School 410-437-5512 adickens@aacps.org
Michele Fenner George Fox Middle School 410-437-5512 mlfenner@aacps.org
Melissa Brice Glen Burnie High School 410-761-8950 mabrice1@aacps.org
Elizabeth Pascoe Glen Burnie High School 410-761-8950 epascoe@aacps.org
Sarah Streyle Indian Creek Upper School 410-849-5151 sstreyle@indiancreekschool.org
Ezra Beasley Indian Creek Upper School 410-849-5151 ezrabeasley@students.indiancreekschool.net
Leah Milano Marley Middle School 410-761-0088 lmilano@aacps.org
Dr. Steve Lottes Mary E. Moss Academy 410-222-3836 slottes@aacps.org
Khristine Smith Mary E. Moss Academy 410-222-3836 kpsmith@aacps.org
Maggie McDermott MD SADD Coordinator/Impact Society maggster0121@gmail.com
Sabrina Biden MD SADD Coordinator/Impact Society sabrinabiden@gmail.com
Rebecca Peedin MD SADD Coordinator/Impact Society rebecca@theimpactsociety.org
Danny Brannon MD SADD Coordinator/Impact Society 410-581-4900 danny@theimpactsociety.org
Christopher Brady Meade High 410-674-7710 cgbrady@aacps.org
Destiny Jones Meade Middle School 410-674-2355 dcjones1@aacps.org
Ivy Sheffler-Oidick North County High School 410-222-6970 isheffler-oidick@aacps.org
Donald Foderaro North County High School 410-222-6970 dfoderaro@aacps.org
Kelly McVey North County High School 410-222-6970 kmcvey@aacps.org
Michelle Hymowitz North County High School 410-222-6970 mhymowitz@aacps.org
Jacqueline Dunn Northeast High School 410-437-6400 jadunn@aacps.org
Brandi Dorsey Northeast High School 410-437-6400 bldorsey@aacps.org
Tully Fenner Northeast High School 410-437-6400 tfenner@aacps.org
Erin White Northeast High School 410-437-6400 emwhite1@aacps.org
Cherise Irons Old Mill High School 410-969-9010 cirons@aacps.org
Colleen Brendlinger Old Mill High School 410-969-9010 cbrendlinger@aacps.org
Jean McCracken Phoenix Academy 410-570-9070 jmccracken@aacps.org
Shauna Rykiel Phoenix Academy 410-222-1650 srykiel@aacps.org
India Somerville Phoenix Academy 410-222-1650 isomerville@aacps.org
Meleny Thomas Rediscovering Me Clubhouse 410-636-3187 melenyt@ccyd.org
Nadine Hendler Severna Park High Schoool 410-544-0900 nhendler@aacps.org
Mary Dobish Severna Park High Schoool 410-647-7900 mdobish@aacps.org
Kristin Canevazzi South River High School 410-956-5600 kcanevazzi@aacps.org
Tracy Arnold South River High School 410-956-5600 tarnold@aacps.org
Will Maynard Southern High School 410-570-0969 wmaynard@aacps.org
Olivia Mastrangelo Southern Middle 410-222-1659 omastrangelo@aacps.org
Pamela Dolan Southern Middle 410-222-1659 pdolan@aacps.org
Claire Dillon St. Marys High School 703-909-5418 cdillon@stmarysannapolis.org
Megan Bowers St. Marys High School 410-990-4223 mbowers@stmarysannapolis.org
Lee Schreitz The Key School 410-757-7913 lschreitz@keyschool.org

 

SADD IDEA SHARING!!   ATTENTION ALL LEADERS!!

Share your ideas and campaign strategies with each other to keep connected throughout the county!

SADD Idea Sharing